ScootRS Scooter Reviews

Actual customer reviews, comments, feedback and more on ScootRS scooters:

Awards

Amongst others, there have been the following:

Vespa VBC“2nd Place”
Concours d'Elegance, Amerivespa Rally 2008, Vespa Club of America.

Award winning Lambretta scooter“Best Italian Scooter”, “Best Custom Paint”, 3rd place for “Best Vintage Scooter”
Show in Florida, USA, Nov. 2008, with 150 scooters entered. See our Roadkill entry about it.

LI200 Special“Best Overall Scooter”
Rally in London, UK, Aug. 2007. Here they are recreating an old family photo as well. See below for more photos.

LI225 Special“Best Lambretta”
2008 New Zealand Classic Scooter Club Rally, Feb 22nd - 24th 2008.

Batmobile“2nd Place”
High-end competition, Beverly Hills, 2007. First ever scooter to win an award, beating out Nicolas Cage's superbike in 3rd!

TV175“Best Two-Wheeled Vehicle”
Italian Week in Ottawa, Canada, July 2003.

Mod school“Coolest Scooter”
FIV Vespa Club of Japan annual rally in Nagoya, Japan, May 2003.

Old school“Best Vespa”, “Best Overall Scooter”
May 2003 at the Garden City rally in Victoria, BC, Canada, amongst 90+ scooters.

TV175“Best Lambretta”
Concours d'Elegance, Amerivespa Rally 2002, Vespa Club of America.

Customer reviews - comments - feedback

It is blatantly obvious the steps you have taken to elevate your business head and shoulders above the rest in your country (as well as other countries it would seem).

Following are just a few hands-on reviews, from new to very old.

Note: Most of the recent commentary and customer photos has gone in the Roadkill section and can be found where email was mentioned. See there first.

Alerta! Restauros vietnamitas!
14.11.07

Os únicos restauros asiáticos que se distinguem com qualidade semelhante à Ocidental são os do ScootRS. Quase tudo o resto é de evitar como a peste.

Email
April 2007

Everyone at scootRS, well what can I say, got crate home, opened it and WOW, so pleased with it, looks even better than the pictures. Thanks for all the EXTRA bits and pieces (spare bulbs, touch up paint, cables and rear wheel jack and of course the famous calendar) please forward my thanks to all the team for a fantastic hassle free purchase, I would not hesitate to recommend anyone to your company, roll on summer...

--------- Update:

Everything fine with new scoot, took it for M.O.T. test today (road worthiness) passed easy, had to spend hour and a half showing scoot and explaining how I got it (have to get used to that i suppose)[....] By the way, everyone is very impressed with the scoot.

--------- Update:

Winner of a Best Overall Scooter Award.

Post
Aug-25-06, 07:32 PM (EDT)

I just got my ScootRS Vespa home from the Customs warehouse last night, added oil & fuel, kicked it slowly twice to suck some gas into the carb, turned the key, kicked it ONCE and it purred to life!!! ONE KICK !!! Starts first kick every time!!! Not my first scoot but certainly the coolest! Is it eveything I hoped it would be? YES!!!! Can I find a single part or fastener that makes me queasy? NO!!!! Could I paint that awesome a finish or would I spend the time to do everything this nice? NO!!!! Does everthing work like it should? YES!!!! [...]

For those of you who OWNED an Asian import and found it unpleasant, I am sorry for your misfortune. [...] Smiling from the seat of my Absolutely Awesome Dangerously Red VBC I must say, IMHO, ScootRS Rocks...

--------- Update:

I got a great deal on my scootRS Vespa, only 850 trouble-free kms so far, but it's all good. Three Italian Vespa mechanics at the local Vespa dealer gave it the once over yesterday and found NOTHING suspect. Replaced only the oil fill plug gasket. "Very nice Vespa" was the verdict.

--------- Update:

I'm up to 1200 trouble-free Km on my “all new parts motor.” It's broken-in nicely.

--------- Update:

Winner “2nd Place”, Concours d'Elegance, Amerivespa Rally 2008, Vespa Club of America.

buying from Vietnam
Thu May 25, 2006 4:34 pm

Bought my TV from scootRS back in January and apart from one small clutch cable problem all has been fine. A lot of local scooterists have given the bike the once over and there has been nothing but praise for the bike. Yes, I am sure you can buy some tat from Vietnam but I dont think ScootRS can be put into that category.

Re: vietnam scooters
Feb 13th, 2006, 8:08pm

Not a bad word about scootRS from me, did 700 miles on my LI Special which I got from there last June. No probs and looks the business. Rayspeed's checked it over and were impressed with the scoot.

Post
Wed Mar 09, 2005

I can tell you that my bike gets huge praise everywhere it goes, local scooter shops included, and it runs like a rocket. It is indeed a mint condition restoration and the gang at ScootRS did a great job. I expect comments to the contrary from shop owners of course because they want to sell their bikes. [....]

This is a great looking, running, and mechanical bike, no negatives about it. I own several classic show cars from the 50's & 60's and this bike rates very high in my book.

Re: scooter order (email)
Feb. 5, 2004

I'm loving every Km on this bike. I thank you for the opportunity to purchase such a product. Every time I fill up I get stopped and people compliment the scooter, they can't believe that it's 39 years old! If they ask where to buy one, I send them right to ScooterMD and give them the ScootRS web address. I can't wait till it warms up a bit here, so I can ride everyday! Man, I'm hooked!

My Second Scooter Purchase
Spring 2003, Letters to Scoot! Quarterly

My second scooter purchase was a “very big deal,” to put it as Holden Caufield would. [....] Reliability is a giant issue. [....] I want to start a scooter, ride a scooter, and feel as though I can rely on it daily (provided I give it routine maintenance). [....] So I asked myself, “What would be the best of both worlds?” The answer: “A classic Lambretta or Vespa with the reliability of a modern-day scooter.”

I've done my research. I have a subscription to Scoot! and have odd copies of Scootering. My computer's favorite places drop-down is full of scooter sites and shop links. I watch eBay auctions, classifieds, and own Vespa books and manuals. [....] So after reading, surfing the web, combing shops, comparing new and old, and talking to other scooterists, I finally decided what my second scooter will be. My second scooter will have tuned exhaust, 12v electronic ignition, push-button electric start, five-port cylinder, 20/20 carburetor, 10-inch wheels, stainless steel all around, and all in a classic, mid-sixties VBB body. I won't win any vintage restoration awards, but I won't be broke either. I won't be a purist, but I'll be a rider.

My apologies go out to the local shops, but the crew at scootRS.com in Vietnam are offering “guilt-free classic reliability” at a knock out price. Had I found that in San Francisco or anywhere in the US, I would have kept dad's money here, because dad is picking up the bill again. Except this time, I'm the dad.

RE: I have a scootRS Bike on its way
Feb-11-03, 12:44 PM

>> Marty, can you describe what kind of scooter do you have and your experience with it in more detail?

I got a Vespa VL1 (handlebar with the lamp on the bars) 150 with 5 ports. From the moment I ordered it the folks at scootRS kept in close contact with me to make sure they were building EXACTLY the bike I wanted. They convinced me to get the 5 ports because, although rebuilt, the engine is an original engine and could use the extra Oomf. I understood from the onset that I was buying a bike with a motor that had been built from parts. After upgrading to the 5 ports and choosing the colour and seat material I wanted, I waited a totally acceptable amount of time until the bike arrived on my shore. I was out of the country when it arrived and because they were so thorough with the paperwork I was able to leave all the importing and shipping issues with a broker in my home town who took care of everything while I was away (without any trouble).

I came home to one of the most beautiful looking scooters I've ever had the pleasure of seeing (I've been a scooterist for 12 years) and when it kicked over on the third kick I took off on it and have been beyond happy ever since. The engine runs like new and it's been 6 months since it got here. I have nothing but kudos for scootRS and the exceptional work they do there. Five stars, 120% satisfaction.

Marty the Mod

[This scooter won “Best Vespa” and “Best Overall Scooter” at a Canadian rally, as noted above under “Awards.” - scootRS]

GS alive and being kicked in HK (email)
Jan. 21, 2003

I received delivery of the GS at my home on Saturday 11th January and pleased to report it arrived safely. Despite the interruptions from jealous neighbours, I eventually rolled it out into the sunshine and was rewarded with a scorcher of a scooter - seems too good to ride, looks so wonderfully Italian I feel like it may be better displayed in some bistro somewhere.

After locating keys and such like I went on to fill the oils and petrol and went to kick it over. No problems it started after 5 kicks and subsequently each cold morning starts on the second kick without fail. The scootRS exhaust looks the business and sounds real nice even though I'm running her in. The engine also sounds very sweet and runs smoothly, it promises to be immensely enjoyable to ride and delicious to look at.

Well done for a service that's personal and sympathetic to the true value of these wonderful machines.

----------RE: GS (email), May 22, 2003

The scoot is going just fine - all run-in now and getting a familiar feel to it that is very endearing. [....] The GS is used nearly every day to take me along a beautiful stretch of road from my village house in the New Territories next to the sea and beaches, through open countryside to a subway station on the edge of the urban area. Total travel time round 20 mins - maybe all too brief but in HK this is real good riding.

Re: scooter order (email)
Aug. 30, 2002

It's so much fun. You provide an excellent scooter at a great price. My friends and coworkers can't believe it is 33 years old. It looks and runs like its brand new. I have recommended you to all of them.

I had to have it appraised for insurance purposes. It was assessed a “Fair Market Value” of $6,000. My only regret at this point is not buying 3. Living in California, I could easily sell the other 2 for $4500 each and covered the price of the third.

Thanks for everything.

scootRS Review
Posted by Phil, Friday, June 29, 2001 at 12:04PM:

[...] I always said that I wasn't going to order one for myself or recommend one to anyone else until I saw one for myself. Now I have, and I am happy to report that I would buy a scootRS scooter. I don't think you can restore a bike yourself for what he charges. That says it all right there, great quality, reasonable price. I believe in 10 years people will be saying “scootRS”, the same way people said Grimstead. It was an instant affirmation of quality craftsmanship setting it apart from other shops.

Re: Scoot RS does it again, but this time you figure it out
by: David (210.160.43.2) on October 30, 2000 at 08:36:38

I took delivery of my scooter only about a half year ago. I haven't been able to show it to other riders, so couldn't get much feedback on it (lots of oohs and aahs didn't mean much to me). Finally I did; I took it to a local (Japan) restorer/mechanic who specializes in Vespas as a side-business (main business is restoring older Maseratis, Alfas, Ferraris, etc.). He insisted that I leave it with him overnight so he could see "what the hell they did to it." What he meant was, what I paid and what I got didn't match up; His conclusion: Excellence. Professional craftsmanship, detailing and engineering, for Vietnam, USA, Japan, Italy, wherever. Very Good Work (he literally took it apart to inspect it).


[In 2003 the scooter above was sold to a museum in Japan when the owner replaced it with a second, similar scootRS VL1.]

---------my VL1 (email), May 19, 2003

My VL1 really seemed to enjoy the limelight yesterday at the annual FIV Vespa Club of Japan annual meeting. Got the “cool scooter award” too, oh boy. A photographer from one of the motorcycle magazines present at the meeting asked me to sell the scooter to him if I ever go back home to Chicago - only from my dead, cold hands.

Publicity

A couple scootRS M-class Vespas were used at NBC in Hollywood for celebrity promo photos, May 2006:

NBC stars NBC - Howie Mandell NBC - Windfall cast NBC - Battlestar Galactica

A scootRS VBB appeared on the converse.com home page (2003):

Converse website

A scootRS VL1 appeared on the envelope of an Aeroplan Visa credit card promotion:

Aeroplan Visa promo

Press

Well Done ScootRS
Spring 2007, Scooterist Scene Magazine

I recently received a scooter I ordered from scootRS and it's better than I imagined - first class resto on everything. (Click the photo to read in full.)

(See more photos above of this award-winning scooter.)



ScootRS VBC Review
Oct. 2006, Scooter Rats Blog

Vespa VBC Here's some feedback on the scooter shop that started all this “should I buy from Vietnam?” controversy, ScootRS. [....]

1) How was the scooter when you got it? Excellent! Better than I expected. Only 1 minor scratch in transit. From the U.S. Customs Contraband Enforcement Team taking it out of the crate twice for “inspection” and X-rays, no doubt (I'm not making this up). ScootRS included a bottle of touch-up paint so all is good. Got it home, gassed it up, kicked it twice to suck some gas into the carb, turned the key, kicked it ONCE and it fired up. Ran perfectly out of the box! [....]

I wanted a vintage scooter; not a totally correct, 100-point all-Italian original, but a “daily driver” and something nicer than I could do myself. So the “all-new-parts” rebuild was the choice for me. My Vespa has a 66 Super engine but is the equivalent of a new LML or Vespa PX motor. Engine cases are original '66 but modded to accept a 5-port topend. All internal parts are new: Crankshaft, bearings, seals, gearset, mainshaft, piston, rings, cylinder, head, CDI ignition, flywheel, stator, etc. I've got the classic look I wanted, but with modern dependability. I can find no signs of a “bodged” part anywhere (nor could my local Vespa dealer ! who's gave it a clean bill of health after a thorough inspection). [....]

2) How were the details of the restore? Again excellent! Very nice paint. Excellent chrome-work, old-school quality plating, thick, hand polished, stainless trim is precisely fitted, no rattles etc. Nice badge repros. All original components painted or polished nicely (engine shrouds, airbox, hubs, etc.) Clean engine rebuild, case numbers match, new hardware, rubbers, and cables, almost everything. It's broken-in nicely with no problems. 100 Kph Max (so far :o ) ~ 150 Km per gallon. [....]

Would you recommend to others? Sure. ScootRS delivers what they promise at a reasonable price.

See all the photos and a full review by a recent scootRS customer.


Update: This scooter won “2nd Place” in the Concours d'Elegance, Amerivespa Rally 2008, Vespa Club of America.

Best Vintage Two-Wheel Deal
Jan./Feb. 2004, Vancouver Magazine

The magazine checked out our M-class Vespas for sale in Vancouver and had the following to say in their annual “Best of the City” round-up:

After a browse through the recently opened vintage scooter shop Scooter MD Services, you may not need a second opinion before picking up one of your own. Mint condition Vespas (circa 1961-69) are more multi-cultural than a CityTV newscast: originally from Vietnam, the bikes are purchased and restored in Vietnam, sent to Canada and fitted with new engines from India. With a modest price-tag of $4,500-$5,500 [Canadian], it's an Italian design classic that's fit for a star, but priced for the paparazzi.


Piaggio Vespa VB1
June 2003, Scooter Style

We've got no idea what this says, but the Japanese scooter magazine, Scooter Style, reviewed a 5-port, 10 inch VB1 a customer special ordered from us.



Cargo Case Study
Spring 2003, Port of Long Beach Report

.... Within an hour the crate was unloaded, oil added and the scooter running - 36 years after coming off the assembly line and more than 12,000 miles from where it was built. ....


Scoot Over!
Jan/Feb 2003, TEQ Magazine

Vintage Vespas and Lambrettas bring style to basic transportation

In the cult classic movie “Quadrophenia,” everyone knows that Jimmy and the fashionable Mods were much cooler than their street-tough, motorcycle-wielding rivals the Rockers.

It wasn’t just cropped hair, straight ties and short collars that set the Mods apart from the Rockers. The Mods’ fashion sensibility transcended their wardrobes to their mode of transportation � a fleet of chromed out Vespa and Lambretta scooters striking panic on the streets of London. Considered quirky and eccentric to an American culture infatuated with gas-guzzling automobiles, scooters have been a mainstay of European culture for decades, but it has trickled to our shores over the years.

Read more/close...

Vespa 101

Scooters have always been a symbol of independence and a true expression of individualism � the very concepts that brought the first Vespa scooters to market right after World War II.

A war-ravaged Italy needed transportation for its people, but money and resources were scarce, and roads were disastrous at best. Piaggio & Co., an airplane parts manufacturer, saw the need of the people and a way to get its bombed out factories humming again by producing inexpensive transportation that would become the Vespa.

Piaggio charged Corradino D’Ascanio to design a simple, robust vehicle that was both comfortable and elegant. It was a must that both men and women could easily operate it without dirtying their clothes and could perform basic maintenance with ease.

In April 1946, the first 15 Vespa scooters left the Pontedara works complete with 98cc two-stroke motors that eked out a meager 3.5 hp and a top speed of 35 mph.

If your Italian is a little rusty, Vespa translates to “wasp.” The scooter got the name because its bulging waistline and buzzing engine resemble the feisty insect. The initial success of the scooter as basic transportation created competitors quickly, with the Innocenti factory churning out Lambrettas beginning in the 1950s until the early ’70s.

Vespas sold in the millions worldwide with newer and more powerful models being introduced each year. The scooters were sold in the United States in the 1950s and ‘60s through Sears as an Allstate model, and they were sold through actual Vespa dealers until the early 1980s. Pollution laws kept the smoggier two-strokes out of the country after that.

Vespas are once again coming to our shores through Vespa boutiques with cleaner-burning 4-stroke engines, automatic transmissions and turn signals, but scooter purists contend that they are a far cry from their two-stroke ancestors.

Out with the New, in with the Old!

For roughly the same price as a new Vespa, it is possible to buy a restored scooter that has much of the functionality of a new scooter with a serious injection of vintage Italian style.

In typical new economy fashion, there are plenty of Web sites selling used and restored scooters around the world. Considered one of the most reputable sites and renowned for its quality restorations, scootRS.com is at the forefront of getting vintage Vespa and Lambretta scooters on the road.

Its founder started the businessin true entrepreneurial style. He built a business based on combining a need with a passion for the product.

scootRS.com was set up in 1998 and has always been entirely Web based.

“We sell nothing in Vietnam. I could have simply resold scooters from a local shop here as others do, but they have severe quality problems. Old scooters here are basic transportation for the poor, not ‘classics.’”

For those not looking to get their hands too dirty restoring an Italian classic, ordering from a site like scootRS.com is definitely an alternative.

[....] scootRS.com has an easy-to-navigate site that lets you build an assortment of Vespa and Lambretta models with a vast number of options, paint jobs and performance upgrades.

As you point and click to build that dream scoot, you can keep track of the price. A bare-bones, stock Vespa 150 starts around $2,300 plus shipping and import tariffs. Adding performance options, electronic ignitions, electric starters and better trim upgrades increases the price to around $3,500-plus. The sky is definitely the limit. The owner says some of the more popular options are installing newer, more reliable and powerful engines into older, 1950s-era models along with a 10-inch wheel upgrade. Older scooters used smaller 8-inch wheels that aren’t as stable at speed.

[....] With a little Web surfing, elbow grease and taste for the eccentric, it’s more than possible to inject some Mod sensibility into your life � and spark a little panic on your local streets.

Jonathan Kersting

“SHOP”-ING IN ASIA
Winter 2000, Scoot! Quarterly

Southeast Asia abounds with scooters, and every time I heard the buzz-buzz go by, my ears perked, and I had to look. I couldn't believe how many beautiful restored scooters I saw. I had found my El Dorado, and all I could think of was “How the hell do I get my hands on one of these?” Truth be told, anyone can buy a scooter from Southeast Asia. All that is required is a source, a little green (or green, blue, and red if you live in Canada), and some patience.

Frivolous as I was, had I the money I would have bought hundreds of scooters before I returned. I soon found out I would have been sorry. Kathryn and I toured shops and spoke with many riders. We spoke with locals and with visiting Westerners. I examined many restored scooters. I looked over the myriad reproduction parts that were available in both Thailand and Vietnam. Many times I was impressed, sometimes I was disappointed, but I was always fascinated.

I visited many shops in Asia, and only a few actually restored scooters for export. Perhaps the best of these was the scootRS shop in Saigon, Vietnam.

Vietnam Veteran
May 2002, Edition 192, Scootering Magazine

Back in issue 153 (October '98) Andy did a feature on a supposedly restored Lambretta from Vietnam that had arrived at a shop in London for a bit of work. Under what was externally a fairly decent looking scooter lay some absolutely evil bodgery, with things like gearbox shims that had been fabricated from old beer cans simply to get the thing to run. The Lambretta was basically a death trap in the state it was sold, and formed part of a consignment that arrived in Britain at around that period. As you can imagine scooters from Vietnam suddenly got a reputation amongst knowledgeable scooterists to match that of Jack the Ripper.

What the article didn't change was the fact that there are some desirable models of vintage scooter out in the Far East such as genuine Lambretta SX200s. The only problem was how to get them back to the west in a saleable roadworthy condition after they have spent upwards of 30 years in the many hands of the Vietnamese bodge fairies. This is something that scootRS.com has been trying to tackle in Saigon.

Read more/close...

THE UPGRADES

scootRS offer a series of mechanical upgrades at extra cost to the restoration, which most buyers sensibly plump for. On John's machine, this means a new Indian (genuine SIL) GP gearbox, crankshaft and electronic ignition system on top of the standard engine rebuild. scootRS source their parts all over the world, and it seems like much of what they use in the engines comes from India, and is no worse for that.

The standard engine spec includes a reconditioned engine case and all new parts including a Stage 4 barrel. When John ordered his machine, he paid extra for a pattern Mikuni 24mm carb conversion, but these are now included in the basic engine spec. Again, this isn't a bad thing because a properly set-up modern carb should perform much better than a worn out Dell'Orto from the 60's. Sticklers for nut and bolt perfect restorations may not agree, but then again, a lot of them don't actually ride their Lambrettas very far.

On top of the standard chassis restoration (cables, brake shoes, wiring etc.) John ordered several of the accessories that scootRS manufacture in Vietnam. The stainless steel running board strips, legshield beading, fork link covers and floorboard edges are a nice touch, but what I was most taken with was the legshield toolbox which must be a modified one from some sort of oriental Vespa.* Not only did it look like it fitted quite well, but it also has far more capacity than many of the European alternatives. Other extras include chrome wheel rims, and a spare wheel carrier.

THE EXTRAS

The extra that made John's bike really worth a look though, was the electric start conversion. It was developed by the mechanics at scootRS along the lines of that which Servetta had been working on in the 1980s, with a starter motor mounted underneath the mag housing, and driving the flywheel by a ring gear. A Vespa-style starter button has been mounted under the light switch and it is all driven from a battery mounted in the original Lambretta battery tray.

John freely admits that the electric start conversion is a bit of a gimmick, and said that scootRS were similarly up front about it. With only a small battery trying to overcome the high compression of a single cylinder engine, the electric boot can't really be used to get the engine running for the first time each day, but after that John says it works fine.**[Edit: This was reported wrong, see below. It is not a gimmick.] Certainly it started on the button a couple of times when I was watching, but too many starts will soon flatten the battery if you aren't putting miles in between to recharge it.

THE COST

The scooter - built to John's own specification - cost $5,180 (around £3,600), which was not only cheaper than getting an SX 200 and having it restored in the UK by some of the major shops, but also quicker too. Even with delivery and import duty the scooter cost less than £4,000 on the road. Overall, John seems pretty happy with the service he got from scootRS; and particularly that they were so honest about what he was getting. [....]

John has had a few niggles with the bike, like the steering lock falling to pieces and the tank springing a small leak. All it took was an email to scootRS and a new twin tank conversion arrived in the post free of charge and already painted to match John's scooter. No matter about the workmanship, you can't really fault the after-sales service, particularly from a shop on the other side of the world who could quite easily say “up yours” once they've had the money.

THE PROOF

As final proof of the pudding, John was good enough to let me have a quick spin on his scooter.... The clutch needed a bit of adjustment and the front brake was fairly hopeless (as many cable disc brakes seem to be) but the engine rode fine and the gears worked perfectly. I couldn't give the engine full stick because it was still being run in, but at least the pattern Mikuni seemed to carburate alright. The stainless steel scootRS exhaust is a rip-off of a PM Tuning pipe with their own design of muffler. It sounds great but is bordering on being a bit too loud if you have sensitive neighbours. Luckily for John, he doesn't.


scootRS Notes:
* The glovebox is simply the one we make and sell onsite.
** The electric starter is not a gimmick, it works the same as any other and works all the time if you use the scooter regularly. If not the battery will discharge, but you can use it again after running the scooter once.

We received an email update from the owner in Oct. 2002:

It was a beautiful day and there were hundreds of scooters there. I parked up with all the others, then hung around to see what people would say about it. [....] [T]he comments were all to the effect that it was a fantastic restoration and I think it sums it up when one guy said to me (when I made myself known) ‘you've got the (dog's) bollocks there mate!’. In slang English, ‘the dog's bollocks’ means that it's THE BEST! There were a couple of SX200's (unrestored but only fair condition) on sale at £2600 - so my total cost of £3500, delivered to the UK is a bargain!

Handlebar Vespas
Spring 2001, American Scooterist, Vespa Club of America

Those who prefer vintage bikes to new ones should consider handlebar Vespas available from Scootrs. Owned by a Canadian, Scootrs buys Vespas and Lambrettas locally and restores them with parts from the West, exporting the finished vehicles to western markets. The company keeps scooters in stock in unfinished, as-found condition, ready for customer cosmetic and mechanical preferences. There are no restored scooters in Saigon. But there are some already in Oakland, California, waiting for you. Or you can order your handlebar VL1 or VB1 from Scootrs to your specification of fit and finish. Most of the company's VL1 scooters are from Piaggio. But some are from the French firm ACMA. The latter were imported when France was the colonial power in Vietnam. If you're interested in a vintage bike brand new for the second time in its life, log on to Scootrs at www.scootrs.com.

Richard Weiderman